ABOUT

"A non-portrait

of Rémi Coignet"
Photo Daniel Blaufuks

Bio

Rémi Coignet is a freelance writer and editor. He lives and work in Paris.

After studying literature and photography at the University of Montpellier III and at Sorbonne Nouvelle, he received a postgraduate master’s degree in publishing management from ESCP Europe. He then worked for mainstream publishers of illustrated books, including La Martinière, editing publications on topics as diverse as architecture, fashion, animal photography or... sports.

 

In the late 1990s, he wrote about literature, contemporary art and film for various cultural websites. He created the blog Des Livres et des photos on the website of the newspaper

Le Monde in 2008. From 2010, he became artistic director of the Magazine du Bibliophile. From 2012 to 2014, he was a columnist for Polka Magazine. In 2013, he contributed to the founding of The Eyes magazine, becoming editor-in-chief from 2015 to 2020.

 

His first book, Conversations, a collection of his interviews with photographers such as Lewis Baltz, Daido Moriyama or Broomberg & Chanarin to name a few, was published in 2014. Followed Conversations 2 and Conversations 3, published in 2016 and 2020, respectively. These three books contain more than sixty interviews held over a decade with figures of the photography industry, authors, but also publishers and graphic designers. Rémi Coignet has also contributed to a dozen other books.

 

Since 2015, he participates in the pre-jury for the Rencontres d’Arles Book Award. He has also been a member of various other juries, including the Nadar Prize in 2015, the Unseen Dummy Award in 2017 and the Kassel Photobook Award in 2011 and 2017. He curated Amaury da Cunha's exhibition “After all” during the Paris Photo Month in 2012 and the book exhibition “Breaking Point” at the Haus der Photographie as part of the 2018 Hamburg Triennial Der Photographie. He regularly leads workshops and lectures.

Contact

remi.coignet@gmail.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

ABOUT

"A non-portrait

of Rémi Coignet"

Photo Daniel Blaufuks

Bio

Rémi Coignet est un auteur et éditeur free-lance. Il vit et travaille à Paris. 

Après avoir étudié la littérature et la photographie à l'université Montpellier III et à la Sorbonne nouvelle, il obtient un Mastère spécialisé en management de l’édition à l’ESCP Europe. Il travaille ensuite pour des éditeurs grand public de livres illustrés, dont les Éditions de La Martinière. Il édite alors des ouvrages sur des thèmes aussi divers que l'architecture, la mode, la photo animalière ou… le sport.

 

Dès la fin des années 1990, il écrit sur la littérature, l’art contemporain et le cinéma pour divers sites web culturels. Il crée le blog Des Livres et des photos sur le site du journal Le Monde en 2008. À partir de 2010, il est directeur artistique du Magazine du Bibliophile. De 2012 à 2014, il est chroniqueur pour Polka Magazine. En 2013, il participe à la création de la revue The Eyes, dont il est rédacteur en chef de 2015 à 2020.

 

Son premier livre, Conversations, recueil de ses entretiens avec des photographes tels que Lewis Baltz, Daido Moriyama ou Broomberg & Chanarin pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns, paraît en 2014. Suivront Conversations 2 et Conversations 3, publiés respectivement en 2016 et 2020. Ces trois ouvrages recèlent plus d'une soixantaine d'entretiens avec des personnalités de la photographie, auteurs, mais aussi éditeurs et graphistes, tenus au fil d'une décennie. Rémi Coignet a également contribué à une douzaine d'autres ouvrages. 

 

Depuis 2015, il participe au pré-jury du Prix du Livre des Rencontres d’Arles. Il a également été membre de divers jury dont le Prix Nadar en 2015, le Unseen Dummy Award 2017 et le Kassel Photobook Award en 2011 et 2017. Il a été le commissaire de l’exposition « Après tout » d’Amaury da Cunha lors du Mois de la photo à Paris en 2012 et de l’exposition de livres « Breaking Point » à la Haus der Photographie dans le cadre de la Triennale Der Photographie de Hambourg 2018. Il anime régulièrement des workshops et des conférences.

Contact

remi.coignet@gmail.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram