CONVERSATIONS

Rémi Coignet

Interviews with: 

Morten Andersen, 

Irène Attinger, Lewis Baltz, 

Daniel Blaufuks, 

Broomberg & Chanarin, 

Elina Brotherus, 

Raphaël Dallaporta, 

JH Engström, 

Bernard Faucon, 

Horacio Fernández, 

Paul Graham, Guido Guidi, 

Rob Hornstra, 

Pieter Hugo, 

Kummer & Herrman, SYB, 

Eva Leitolf, 

Ethan Levitas, 

Michael Mack, Lesley A. Martin, 

Daido Moriyama, 

Mathieu Pernot, 

Anders Petersen, 

Joachim Schmidt, 

Ivan Vartanian

 

French and English editions

The Eyes Publishing, 2014

Available here

Conversations is a collection of twenty-four interviews between Rémi Coignet and the great actors of contemporary photography. Daido Moriyama, Anders Petersen or Lewis Baltz look back on their work and unveil their conceptions of the photobook. As the interviews unfold a geography of contemporary photography emerges.

Excerpts:

Lewis Baltz

RC: Is photographing architecture and landscape a way to have a discourse about capitalism? 

 

LB: My god, I certainly hope it is! I mean, I think anything could be, but certainly that, because of the cynical commodification of people’s living conditions. Your home is something that somehow is more emotionally engaging and more part of your identity than probably the car you drive or the clothing you wear or the nationality you are born into. And there’s something about, at least in the American imagination: “a man’s home is his castle.” This is something... a man’s home is his equity base, or as we have seen recently, his negative equity base. That is, it’s a commodity like any other commodity. And we live in a world where everything is being commoditized. Those things that have not already been commoditized are in the way of becoming so. It’s probably not such a surprise that I don’t think this is such a healthy, great idea.

Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin

AB: To put it very simply, in a childlike form: I went to a school where I was reading the Old Testament every day for twelve years and I didn’t think I had a relationship with this book until I read Adi Ophir’s text. He claims that the Bible can be seen as a parable for the growth of modern governance, for the State. God chooses his people, he gives them laws, they disobey and he punishes them radically. If you replace “God” with the idea of governance and State, we were all born into this silent contract where we accept the fact that the death penalty exists, that we invade Iraq, that I get a parking fine... all these laws. I didn’t sign a contract when I was born! And yet here we are, existing in this strange society. So that really excited me because it made this book [the Bible] alive for me. Also, it made me understand that I was kind of angry at that book. 

RC: How did you start: did you first choose the passages you underlined in Holy Bible, or the images? 

OC: We began by reading the Bible. Neither of us had actually sat down and read the New Testament and Old Testament. I think very few people have, because it’s a real labor. […] But we began by reading the Bible and selecting passages that were interesting to us not because they were biblical but, first of all, because they sounded contemporary, and secondly, they dealt in some way with the problem of image making. Throughout the Bible, you have a reference to the image —the production of the image— in lots of different ways, from different perspectives. The meta-narrative of this book is really about image making. 

Elina Brotherus

RC: In “The New Painting,” there is a polyptych that I particularly like: you show yourself facing a fogged up mirror. The fog steadily subsides and we discover your face. Isn’t that what photography is all about? A slow reveal? 

EC: Yes, that’s it! This series is analogous to photography. It shows a small physical process inserted within a wider duration. Like the silver plate of a daguerreotype developed in mercury fumes. Here, the steam disappears and the portrait appears. 

JH Engström

RC: Some photographers keep their distance from people, while others get close to them, even physically, like William Klein. My feeling is that you are in this second category. 

JHE: I’m very interested in this question. What does it mean to be close, or distant? That’s what I wrote on the back cover of Trying to Dance: “It’s easier to keep your distance.” Observing from a distance is a way of staying safe. As you move closer, you reveal yourself. But if you decide to get close to your subject, you reveal yourself as a photographer in the same way the people you shoot are being revealed. Maybe photography is asking the question: what does it mean to be present or absent? To be close or far? All of photography moves between proximity and distance, whether you are shooting images or viewing them. 

Daido Moriyama

RC: In your work, we often find images of images: press photos, celebrity portraits (Brigitte Bardot, Marilyn Monroe, etc.), found photos or mannequins. Do you see them as interesting photographic material or rather as representations of our contemporary reality? 

DM: [Daido Moriyama thinks a moment.] When seeing images, I always find another, whether it be a TV screen displaying image, a poster or whatever else. Basically, whether I take a photo of a woman in the street or I take a photo of a photo of that woman in the street, the point will always be to spark, a confrontation between these different levels created by my images. My work lies within this confusion, and I like that. I try to flatten all these levels. I don’t create a hierarchy of images. Never.

CONVERSATIONS

Rémi Coignet

Entretiens avec: 

Morten Andersen, 

Irène Attinger, Lewis Baltz, 

Daniel Blaufuks, 

Broomberg & Chanarin, 

Elina Brotherus, 

Raphaël Dallaporta, 

JH Engström, 

Bernard Faucon, 

Horacio Fernández, 

Paul Graham, Guido Guidi, 

Rob Hornstra, 

Pieter Hugo, 

Kummer & Herrman, SYB, 

Eva Leitolf, 

Ethan Levitas, 

Michael Mack, Lesley A. Martin, 

Daido Moriyama, 

Mathieu Pernot, 

Anders Petersen, 

Joachim Schmidt, 

Ivan Vartanian

 

Versions française et anglaise

The Eyes Publishing, 2014

Disponible ici

Conversations, est un ensemble de vingt quatre entretiens entre Rémi Coignet et les grands acteurs de la photographie contemporaine. Daido Moriyama, Anders Petersen ou Lewis Baltz reviennent sur leur œuvre et dévoilent leurs conceptions du livre de photographie. Au fil des entretiens se dessine une géographie de la photographie contemporaine.

Extraits :

Lewis Baltz

RC : Photographier de l’architecture, des paysages, est-ce une manière de tenir un discours sur la production de richesse, sur le système capitaliste ? 

LB : Mon Dieu, j’espère bien que ça l’est ! Tout sujet pourrait l’être, mais celui-là assurément, du fait de la cynique marchandisation des conditions de vie des gens. Une maison porte une grande charge émotionnelle. Elle fait sans doute davantage partie de l’identité de chacun qu’une voiture, des habits ou même une nationalité. L’imaginaire américain véhicule cette notion : « la maison d’un homme est son château ». Mais aujourd’hui la maison d’un homme définit son pouvoir d’achat, ou même, comme on l’a vu récemment, son absence de pouvoir d’achat. Une maison est une marchandise comme une autre. Nous vivons dans un monde où tout est marchandise. Et ce qui ne l’est pas encore le devient. Vous ne serez sans doute pas très surpris si je considère ce projet comme ni très sain ni très brillant. 

Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin

AB : Pour le dire très simplement, de manière presque enfantine, à l’école, j’ai lu l’Ancien Testament tous les jours pendant douze ans. Et je ne pensais plus avoir de relation à ce livre avant de lire Adi Ophir. Il affirme que la Bible peut être vue comme une parabole de l’essor
des États modernes. Dieu a choisi son peuple, lui a donné des lois. Les hommes lui ont désobéi et il les a punis sévèrement. Et l’on peut remplacer le mot « Dieu » par celui de « gouvernement » ou d’« État »... Nous sommes tous nés avec ce contrat tacite selon lequel nous acceptons qu’existent la peine de mort, l’invasion de l’Irak, les amendes de stationnement et toutes ces lois. Mais je n’ai pas signé de contrat en naissant ! Et nous sommes là, à vivre dans cette étrange société. Cette lecture m’a beaucoup excité, car pour moi ce livre [la Bible] est devenu vivant. Et cela m’a également aidé à comprendre que j’étais en quelque sorte en colère contre ce livre. 

RC : Comment avez-vous travaillé : avez-vous d’abord choisi les phrases qui sont soulignées dans Holy Bible ou les images ? 

OC : Nous avons commencé par lire la Bible. Nous avons lu l’Ancien et le Nouveau Testament, chose que très peu de gens font désormais, car c’est un vrai travail […] Nous avons continué à lire la Bible et à sélectionner des passages qui étaient intéressants pour nous, non parce qu’ils étaient bibliques, mais d’abord parce qu’ils résonnaient dans le contemporain et ensuite parce qu’ils traitaient d’une manière ou d’une autre de la fabrication des images. Tout au long de la Bible il y a des références aux images et à leur production et cela de manières très diverses et avec des perspectives tout aussi diverses. Le métarécit de ce livre est vraiment la production des images.

 

Elina Brotherus

RC : Dans « The new painting », il y a un polyptyque que j’aime beaucoup : tu te représentes face à un miroir embué, et peu à peu la buée s’en va et on découvre ton visage. Est-ce cela la photographie ? un lent dévoilement ? 

EB : C’est cela ! On peut dire que cette série est une analogie de la photographie. Elle montre un petit processus physique inscrit dans une durée. Comme la plaque d’argent du daguerréotype que l’on développait avec de la vapeur de mercure. Là, on a la vapeur qui disparaît et le portrait qui apparaît. 

JH Engström

RC : Il y a des photographes qui tiennent les gens à distance et d’autres qui vont vers eux, y compris physiquement, comme William Klein. J’ai l’impression que tu appartiens plutôt à cette seconde catégorie ? 

JHE : Oui. Je m’intéresse à cette question. Que signifie être proche, que signifie être distant ? C’est ce que j’ai écrit au dos de Trying to Dance : « Il est plus facile de rester à distance. » Observer de loin est une manière de rester en sécurité. En te rapprochant, tu te montres. Mais si tu décides d’être proche de ton sujet, tu te dévoiles en tant que photographe tout autant que sont dévoilés les gens que tu photographies. Peut-être la photographie pose-t-elle cette question : que signifie être présent ou absent ? être proche ou lointain ? Toute la photographie circule entre cette proximité et cette distance, que tu sois en train de photographier ou de regarder des images. 

 

Daido Moriyama

 

RC : Il y a très souvent dans votre travail des images d’images : photos de presse, portraits de stars (Brigitte Bardot, Marilyn Monroe, etc.), photos trouvées ou mannequins de vitrines. Les voyez-vous comme un matériau photographique intéressant ou plutôt comme une représentation de notre réalité contemporaine ? 

DM : [Daido Moriyama réfléchit un moment.] Que ce soit un écran de télévision qui diffuse une image, un poster, ou ce que l’on veut d’autre, moi, je trouve une image en voyant d’autres images. Au fond, que je prenne une photographie d’une femme dans la rue ou que je prenne une photographie d’une photographie de cette femme dans la rue, ce sera toujours dans une confrontation entre ces différents niveaux que se créent mes images. J’aime que mon travail se situe dans cette confusion. Mon travail consiste à mettre tous ces niveaux à plat. Je ne crée pas de hiérarchie entre les images. Jamais.